« Back to Summary
This year, we invited 7 application papers, which got a free entry to the program and a slot in the proceedings. Do you think this is a good idea?
#Response DateOther comments?
1Jun 10, 2010 7:18 PMThere should be a specific applications stream and review process with a different review form, that encourages reviewers to assess application papers differently.
2Jun 10, 2010 7:30 PMI find papers by invitation to be outrageous and against the fairness of the system.
3Jun 10, 2010 8:09 PMWe can have some invited talks for one or two key applications where then a more indepth introduction is given
4Jun 10, 2010 8:19 PMI would like to comment on the next question: I think this is probably the future, but if by (bad) luck the Internet connection does not work perfectly, it will be a disaster
5Jun 10, 2010 8:29 PMThis seems more of a suitable method for a journal with its deadline schedule, review process, and ability to publish work that has appeared in a preliminary setting (like a conference).
6Jun 11, 2010 12:17 AMIf we wish to have a specific initiative aimed at application papers, I feel it is unfair that only a few selected people get to benefit from the initiative. Whatever incentive structure is put up should be open to everyone.
7Jun 11, 2010 2:19 AMHowever I am a bit skeptical. From what I have seen in the past, so-called "application papers" at ICML were still required to feature novel machine learning techniques, and were in some cases weak on the realistic scale. This is fine if that's what the program committee prefers, but then stop calling for "application papers". Otherwise this becomes frustrating for people who do real applications yet get rejected for lack of novel algorithmic/theoretical contribution. (I have heard this comment from several people, not just my own experience.)
8Jun 11, 2010 4:02 AMThere shouldn't be a free pass to the proceedings. It is possible to add an applications paper reviewed track where the reviewed parameters might be more suitable to an application track.
9Jun 11, 2010 10:36 PMICML has become too theoretical at the expense of interesting applications, so anything to restore more of a balance toward applications is a good thing in my opinion.
10Jun 13, 2010 2:01 PMno idea
11Jun 14, 2010 9:40 AMExplicitly call for application papers and reviews them separately from main track papers.
12Jun 20, 2010 11:59 AMThe papers I reviewed completely missed the focus on (potential) applications. Many (or most) papers I have read from previous ICMLs, while good from a mathematical point of view, also miss the point about applicability in real situations.